Delivering Unwavering Representation We Know How To Defend Your Rights & Safeguard Your Future Opportunities.

Collin County, Texas DWI Punishment

If you are convicted of a Driving While Intoxicated offense in Texas, you could be subjected to very steep punishment both on the local county level and the State level. The amount of punishment is typically determined by your prior criminal history and the results of your blood or breath test. The punishment range for a DWI conviction in Texas are:

Class B Driving While Intoxicated

  • You will face a Class B Driving While Intoxicated offense if: 1) you have not been convicted of a prior DWI or DUI in Texas or in any other State, 2) The State did not obtain a breath or blood test over a .15 in your case; OR the State drops the allegation of a breath or blood test over a .15.
  • The Punishment range for a class B Driving While Intoxicated conviction in Texas is:
  • a) 72 hours to 180 days in the county jail;
  • b) A fine up to $2,000; and/or
  • c) Probation up to 2 years.

Class A Driving While Intoxicated

  • You will face a Class A Driving While Intoxicated offense if: 1) the State has evidence or a blood or breath test over a .15 or if you have one previous conviction of DWI or DUI in Texas or any other State.
  • The Punishment range for Class A Driving While Intoxicated in Texas with no prior convictions and a blood or breath test over a .15 is:
  • 1) Up to 1 year in the county jail;
  • 2) Up to a $4,000 fine; and/or
  • 3) Probation up to 2 years.

The Punishment range for Class A Driving While Intoxicated is Texas with one prior DWI or DUI conviction in Texas or any other State is:

  • 1) A minimum of 30 days to 1 year in the county jail;
  • 2) Up to a $4,000 fine; and/or
  • 3) Probation up to 2 years
  • ****If you are convicted of a DWI with a prior DWI or DUI conviction in Texas or any other State, you will be required to go to jail for 3 to 30 days even if you are placed on probation. This is typically known as “terms and conditions” or “T&C time” of probation.

Felony Driving While Intoxicated

  • You will face a Felony DWI offense if you have been convicted at least twice for a DWI or DUI in Texas or any other State.
  • The Punishment for a Felony DWI in Texas is:
  • a) A minimum of 2 years to 10 years in the State Penitentiary;
  • b) Up to a $10,000 fine; and/or
  • c) Probation up to 10 years.
  • ****If you are convicted of a Felony DWI in Texas you will be required to go to jail for up to 180 days even if you are placed on probation. This is typically known as terms and conditions or “T&C Time” of probation.
  • ****The State may also seize the vehicle you were driving in a civil forfeiture as punishment for a Felony DWI conviction.

Driving While Intoxicated Surcharges

  • In addition to the punishment above, a Driving While Intoxicated conviction in Texas also subjects you to State punishment in the form of DPS surcharges to keep you drivers license. The Texas DPS surcharges are:
  • 1) $1,000 per year for 3 years for a Class B DWI conviction;
  • 2) $2,000 per years for 3 years for a Second offense DWI conviction, a first offense Class A DWI conviction if you have a blood or breath test over a .16 or a Felony DWI conviction.