2591 Dallas Parkway, Suite 207A, Frisco, TX 75034

Free Consultations




Family Violence Charges in Texas

 Posted on December 08, 2023 in Family Violence

TX defense lawyerTexas law defines family violence as an act by a family member or member of the household that is intended to cause physical harm, bodily injury, assault, or sexual assault. Family violence accusations are taken seriously in Texas, and if you are convicted, you may be incarcerated, pay steep fines, and have a criminal record

A conviction can affect other aspects of your life, even affecting your ability to find employment and housing. This is after you have already served your time under the law.

Once you are charged, only a prosecutor can have your charges dismissed. Our Frisco domestic violence defense attorneys are here to discuss family violence charges and potential punishments.

Family Violence Offenses

Any act of assault against a person with whom you have a domestic relationship can be considered a family violence crime.

An assault crime is considered an act of family violence if it is committed against:

  • A family member related by blood, marriage, or adoption
  • A former or current spouse
  • A former or current dating partner
  • A member of the same household
  • A child of a former spouse or dating partner
  • A foster child
  • A foster parent

Examples of family violence offenses include, but are not limited to:

  • Simple assault
  • Aggravated assault
  • Intimidation
  • Kidnapping/abduction
  • Robbery
  • Murder
  • Manslaughter

Domestic Assault

According to Texas Family Code §5.22.01, a person commits domestic assault if he or she intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly threatens to harm or cause bodily harm to a family member, housemate, or romantic partner.

If another person alleges that you touched him or her in a way that was provocative or offensive, then you will likely still be charged with domestic assault.


If you are a first-time assault offender, you will be charged with a Class A misdemeanor. If you are convicted, you may spend up to one year in jail and potentially pay $4,000 in fines.

However, if you sexually assault someone in your household, then you will probably receive a second-degree felony charge. A second-degree felony conviction is punishable by up to 20 years in prison (with a minimum sentence of two years) and a maximum fine of $10,000.

Other Areas of Your Life That May Be Affected

Employers typically conduct background checks after interviewing job candidates. A criminal record may keep you from getting your dream job.

The same applies to renting an apartment. Landlords also conduct background checks, so a domestic assault charge may keep you from living where you want.

Custody arrangements may also be impeded. Your visitation rights may be restricted. If you are convicted of a family violence charge, the court may require that you be supervised at all times in visiting with your child.

There are several possible defenses that may be available to you. A Collin County domestic violence defense attorney can help keep a family violence charge off your record.

Family Violence Charges Brought Against You? Contact a Frisco, TX, Domestic Violence Defense Attorney Today

A family violence charge should not be taken lightly. If convicted, you will likely be facing harsh penalties. Even after your release, it can inhibit you from living the life you deserve. 

Our Collin County, TX, domestic violence defense attorneys have successfully defended hundreds of family violence cases. Let us help you. Contact Law Offices of Biederman & Burleson P.L.L.C. today online or by calling 469-333-3333 to schedule your free consultation. 

Share this post:
top 100 avvo best business top 40 fox usa cnn wfaa elite lawyer
Back to Top