2591 Dallas Parkway, Suite 207A, Frisco, TX 75034

Free Consultations

469-333-3333

How Do I Get My Texas Driver’s License Reinstated After DWI Charges?

Posted on in DWI

Allen DWI defense attorney

Hundreds of Texans are killed in car accidents involving alcohol each year, and in order to reduce this risk, Texas enforces a driver’s license suspension for many motorists who are arrested for or convicted of driving while intoxicated (DWI). However, these suspensions are usually not permanent, and drivers have the right to apply for reinstatement of their license when the time period of their suspension has passed. With the help of a DWI defense attorney, you can demonstrate to the state that you can drive safely in the future and get your license back as soon as possible.

When Can Your License Be Suspended in Texas?

If you are arrested for an alcohol-related driving offense, your license may be suspended under any of the following circumstances:

  • You refuse to submit to a blood or breath test during a traffic stop.

  • You fail a blood or breath test administered at the time of your arrest.

  • You are under the age of 21 and any amount of alcohol is detected in your system.

  • You are convicted of DWI or a related offense.

Depending on the type of offense and whether or not you have prior DWI convictions on your record, the suspension period can be as short as 60 days or as long as two years.

Requirements for a Reinstated Driver’s License

When your suspension is complete, you will be able to apply for reinstatement with the Texas Department of Public Safety. Your application should include three major components:

  1. Personal identification information, including your name, birth date, and driver’s license number

  2. Payment for reinstatement fees

  3. Required compliance documentation: This may include certification of your completed probation, certification of your completed drug or alcohol education course, and an SR-22 proof of financial responsibility form showing that you have sufficient liability insurance

You can visit the Texas Department of Public Safety website to check your eligibility for reinstatement and pay your reinstatement fee online, and you can submit compliance documents via mail, fax, or as PDF attachments in an email. If all goes according to plan, you can expect your license to be reinstated within 21 days of your submitted application.

Contact a Frisco DWI Defense Lawyer

Although the driver’s license reinstatement process may seem straightforward, it can be easy to make a mistake that delays your ability to drive again. With the help of the knowledgeable attorneys at the Law Offices of Biederman & Burleson, you can ensure that you have all required documentation in order to help your reinstatement proceed efficiently, and you may be able to reduce or avoid a suspension altogether. Contact our dedicated Collin County DWI defense attorneys today at 469-333-3333 to schedule a free consultation.

 

Sources:

https://www.dps.texas.gov/driverlicense/reinstatinglicense.htm

https://www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/faqs/index.htm

 

top 100 avvo best business top 40 fox usa cnn wfaa elite lawyer
Back to Top