2591 Dallas Parkway, Suite 207A, Frisco, TX 75034

Free Consultations




I Hit Someone with My Car While Drunk. Will I Go to Jail?

 Posted on February 04, 2022 in DWI

TX defense lawyerIn Texas, a conviction for driving while intoxicated (DWI) is often a misdemeanor offense. Unless certain aggravating circumstances are present, most first-time DUI offenders face a minimum of three days in jail, fines, and other penalties. However, if a DWI offender causes injury to death to another person while under the influence, the charges are much more severe. Intoxication assault and intoxication manslaughter are felony offenses that have the potential to change your entire life. If you or a loved one were charged with intoxication assault or intoxication manslaughter, retain qualified legal counsel as soon as possible. You could be facing significant prison time.

Intoxication Assault Charges in Texas

When someone is harmed in connection with a DWI case, the driver may be charged with intoxication assault. Hitting someone with your vehicle or causing a car accident in which someone was seriously injured can lead to intoxication assault charges. Texas prosecutors often pursue intoxication assault cases fervently and advocate for long prison sentences.

Per the Texas Penal Code, intoxication assault occurs when someone suffers “serious bodily injury” as a result of intoxicated driving. Serious bodily injury is defined as injury which has the potential to be deadly or injury that causes permanent loss of function or disfigurement. Intoxication assault or DWI with serious bodily injury is punishable by up to 10 years of incarceration and a maximum fine of $10,000.

DWI Resulting in Death

If an intoxicated driver causes an accident that results in death, he or she may face charges for intoxication manslaughter. This is a third-degree felony offense in Texas. If convicted of intoxication manslaughter, you face up to 20 years behind bars and a maximum fine of $10,000.

Being convicted of a felony offense has life-altering consequences. This is why it is important to consult with a skilled criminal defense attorney right away. An experienced attorney can start to gather evidence to aid in your defense and help you understand what to expect next.

Contact a Collin County DWI Defense Lawyer

The Frisco criminal defense attorneys at Law Offices of Biederman & Burleson P.L.L.C. know how to build a strong defense against intoxication assault or intoxication manslaughter charges. Our team has secured “not guilty” verdicts for clients accused of a wide range of offenses, including DWI cases involving failed blood and breath alcohol tests. Call our office today at 469-333-3333 and set up a confidential consultation to learn how we can help you.




Share this post:
top 100 avvo best business top 40 fox usa cnn wfaa elite lawyer
Back to Top