2591 Dallas Parkway, Suite 207A, Frisco, TX 75034

Free Consultations

469-333-3333

Subscribe to this list via RSS Blog posts tagged in McKinney criminal defense lawyer

Collin County criminal defense attorney writ bond

Being handcuffed and placed in the back of a police car is one of the most frightening and intimidating experiences a person can go through – especially if the person has never been arrested before. Most people do not know exactly how arrests, criminal charges, and securing bail work after an arrest for driving while intoxicated (DWI). They may be unsure of how long they will be in police custody following the arrest and worried about getting to work, picking up their children from school, and fulfilling other responsibilities. Fortunately, there may be a way to get out of police custody within a few hours following a DWI arrest in Texas through an attorney writ bond.

An Attorney Writ Bond Can Expedite a Criminal Defendant’s Release  

When an individual is arrested for drunk driving in Texas, they are taken into police custody. He or she will attend a hearing with a judge within 48 hours of being arrested. During the hearing, the judge explains what the defendant has been charged with and what he or she must do to be released. Often, the defendant must pay a certain amount of money called a “bail” to be released. Some defendants pay their bail through a bondsman. Judges may also release a defendant on a “personal bond,” which means that he or she swears to appear at a future court date.  

...

Collin County criminal defense attorney DWI marijuana

Driving while intoxicated (DWI) charges typically bring to mind drunk driving. However, alcohol is not the only substance that can lead to DWI charges in Texas. While many states have legalized the medical or recreational use of marijuana, the drug is still illegal in Texas save for very specific circumstances.  If you are caught driving while intoxicated by marijuana or a THC-containing product, you may be charged with DWI and subject to penalties including heavy fines and possible jail time. Developing a robust defense strategy with help from a skilled DWI defense lawyer may help you avoid these penalties.  

Understanding the Difference Between DWI Involving Cannabis and DWI Involving Alcohol

The penalties for DWI involving marijuana intoxication and alcohol intoxication are largely the same. A first offense is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 180 days in jail, a $2,000 fine, and a temporary suspension of your driver’s license. Second or subsequent offenses or DWI involving certain aggravating factors such as child passengers are penalized by longer jail sentences.

...

Collin County criminal defense attorney drug possession

In the state of Texas, criminal drug charges can result in severe consequences that may affect you for the rest of your life, including burdensome fines, extended imprisonment, and a criminal record that can impact your employment opportunities, immigration status, and more. Drug possession on its own is treated as a serious offense, and when you are facing charges of intent to distribute or manufacture drugs, the potential penalties are even more significant. However, it can be difficult for the prosecution to prove intent in cases such as these. That is why it is essential that you consult a skilled criminal defense attorney who can build a strong defense on your behalf. 

What Are the Penalties for Possession With Intent to Distribute or Manufacture?

You may be charged with possession with intent to distribute or manufacture a controlled substance if law enforcement believes that you are in possession of a drug for purposes other than your own personal use. In most cases, these charges can result in greater penalties than charges of possession alone under Texas law. For example, possessing 1-4 grams of cocaine is a third-degree felony with possible penalties including 2-10 years of imprisonment and up to $10,000 in fines, whereas possessing the same amount with intent to distribute or manufacture is a second-degree felony with a maximum prison sentence of 20 years in addition to a possible $10,000 fine.

...

Collin County criminal defense attorney underage DWI

Driving while intoxicated (DWI) is treated as a serious criminal offense for Texans of any age, but underage drinkers are subject to even more stringent penalties. Texas not only has separate laws for driving under the influence (DUI) that apply to drivers under the age of 21 with any amount of alcohol in their system, but several other underage drinking offenses can also result in the loss of driving privileges. If you or your child has been arrested on an underage drinking charge, you should know about the potential legal consequences. An experienced criminal defense attorney can help protect your rights and driving privileges.

Texas Underage Drinking Laws

In Texas, underage drivers can be arrested for DUI if they have consumed any alcohol before driving. A police officer can make an arrest based on a blood alcohol content (BAC) test, even one with a result below the legal limit of 0.08 percent, or based on smelling alcohol on the driver’s breath. Texas law also prohibits someone under the age of 21 from purchasing, possessing, and consuming alcohol in most situations, as well as being drunk in public. A person arrested for the first time for any of these offenses may face Class C misdemeanor charges.

...

Allen drunk driving defense attorney

If you thought getting charged with a DWI was bad enough, consider the consequences of a DWI with a child passenger. Should you be accused of such a crime, even if it is the first time you have ever been accused of any crime, you could still face significant consequences, including substantial fines, jail time, probation, and other penalties, not to mention child endangerment allegations that could put your child’s custody in jeopardy. If you or someone you know is facing DWI with a minor passenger charge, hiring a skilled criminal defense attorney should be your first step in figuring out an effective defense strategy.

What an Attorney Can Do for You 

Many states across the country do not target child endangerment charges for DWI/DUI with a minor passenger as strictly as Texas. In fact, for years, only three states other than Texas made such a charge an automatic felony. So, if you have to tackle DWI with a child passenger charges, you might not only be charged with the DWI itself but also child endangerment, which could make the charges and punishments much more serious. That is why you need professional legal representation to help you with such charges.

...
top 100 avvo best business top 40 fox usa cnn wfaa elite lawyer
Back to Top