2591 Dallas Parkway, Suite 207A, Frisco, TX 75034

Free Consultations

469-333-3333

Teens and Young Adults Can Face Criminal Charges for Purchasing or Consuming Alcohol

Posted on in Criminal Defense

TX defense lawyerAs the school season ends and summer break begins, many high school and college-aged students are faced with a difficult decision: Do they wait until they are of legal age to drink, or do they drink alcohol before age 21?

Many young people find themselves at summer parties or events where alcohol is served to underage individuals. They may even have an older friend or family member who is willing to purchase alcohol for them. The temptation to drink before it is legal is something many people have experienced; however, the consequences of underage drinking can have profound consequences.

Minor in Possession of Alcohol

In the majority of cases, individuals under age 21 may not possess or consume alcohol. If a minor is caught in possession of alcohol in violation of Texas law, he or she can be charged with a Class C misdemeanor. Texas penalties for minors charged with alcohol possession are not focused on punishment but instead helping the minor avoid reoffending in the future. Alcohol possession is punishable by a maximum fine of $500 and up to 12 hours of community service. If the minor has a driver’s license or learner’s permit, his or her license may be suspended for up to 30 days. Often, minors charged with alcohol-related offenses are required to participate in an alcohol education course.

Charges For Underage Drinking and Driving

For adults, the legal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit is 0.08 percent. However, underage individuals can face charges for drunk driving if there is any amount of alcohol in their system. Underage driving under the influence (DUI) is a Class C misdemeanor offense punished by up to $500 in fines, 40 hours of community service, participation in an alcohol education course, and a driver’s license suspension of up to 180 days.

If the minor has a BAC of 0.08 percent or more, he or she can face adult penalties for driving while intoxicated (DWI) which include mandatory jail time of three days, steep fines, up to two years of community supervision or probation, and a two-year driver’s license suspension. Furthermore, DWI charges will show up on the young person’s criminal record which can have long-term consequences that follow them for the rest of their life.

Contact a Frisco Juvenile Criminal Defense Lawyer

If you or your child were charged with DUI, DWI, or another alcohol-related offense, contact Law Offices of Biederman & Burleson P.L.L.C. right away. Our Collin County DWI defense attorneys understand that criminal charges can threaten a young person’s future. Whenever possible, we aim to get charges reduced or dismissed.

Call Law Offices of Biederman & Burleson P.L.L.C. at469-333-3333 for a free consultation.

Source:

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/AL/htm/AL.106.htm#106.05

top 100 avvo best business top 40 fox usa cnn wfaa elite lawyer
Back to Top