2591 Dallas Parkway, Suite 207A, Frisco, TX 75034

Free Consultations

469-333-3333

Texans With Cancer Or PTSD Can Soon Join State’s Medical Marijuana Program

Posted on in Criminal Defense

As of Sept. 1, 2021, Texans who are being treated for cancer at any stage or Post Traumatic Stress Disorder will be able to use cannabis products under the Texas Compassionate Use Program, which allows doctors to prescribe cannabis products with low levels of tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) as a treatment. 

When the program was created in 2015, lawmakers limited who could be prescribed cannabis products to only those who suffer from epilepsy. They expanded it in 2019 to include patients with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, autism, incurable neurodegenerative disease, multiple sclerosis, seizure disorder, spasticity, or terminal cancer. 

According to The Texas Tribune, lawmakers accepted two arguments for adding cancer at any stage and PTSD to the list of approved conditions. First, THC is thought to alleviate cancer treatment side effects like nausea, loss of appetite, and body pains. THC affects the amygdala, the part of the brain that controls fear. Marijuana products may help those who suffer from PTSD, particularly veterans, by calming them down when they encounter something that triggers trauma. 

While the program follows a national trend in which states across the country are either decriminalizing or outright legalizing marijuana for medicinal or recreational purposes, or both, Marijuana is still illegal for recreational use and marijuana possession can still lead to criminal charges

Marijuana Laws in Texas

Under Texas law, it is illegal to possess, sell, or grow marijuana, and punishments are determined by volume. Marijuana possession may be a misdemeanor or felony. Possession of two ounces or less is a Class B misdemeanor offense punishable by a sentence of up to 180 days in jail plus a maximum $2,000 fine. Two to four ounces of marijuana is a Class A misdemeanor offense punishable by up to a year in jail and a $4,000 fine. Felony possession is anything more than four ounces. Penalties for felony marijuana possession range from 180 days in jail with a $10,000 fine to 99 years in jail with a $50,000 fine. 

Selling seven grams or less of marijuana is a misdemeanor offense. It could result in up to 180 days in jail plus a fine of up to $4,000. Felony sale is anything more than 7 grams. Punishment for that ranges from 180 days in jail to 99 years in prison plus a fine of up to $2,000. 

Contact a Plano Criminal Defense Lawyer

If you have been arrested for marijuana possession, contact a skilled Plano criminal defense lawyer. Contact the Law Offices of Biederman & Burleson P.L.L.C., so we can get our team to begin forming a coherent legal defense strategy today. Call for a free consultation today at 469-333-3333.

 

Sources:

https://www.texastribune.org/2021/08/11/texas-medical-marijuana-program/

https://norml.org/laws/texas-penalties-2/

https://www.dps.texas.gov/section/compassionate-use-program

 

top 100 avvo best business top 40 fox usa cnn wfaa elite lawyer
Back to Top