2591 Dallas Parkway, Suite 207A, Frisco, TX 75034

Free Consultations

469-333-3333

Understanding the Law Surrounding Marijuana Edibles in Collin County

Posted on in Drug Charges

Collin County drug crimes defense lawyerWe are currently living in very interesting times regarding the topic of marijuana in the United States. While various states have passed laws considered more lenient towards marijuana, even in some cases legalizing the recreational use of the drug, many states, including Texas, still prohibit marijuana and virtually all its forms in the strongest possible terms. Today, we will look at the laws in Texas regarding marijuana in edible form. 

However, if you live in Texas and have been arrested on a marijuana-related charge, you would be wise to contact an experienced criminal defense attorney to help ensure your rights remain protected and that a positive outcome can be pursued in your case. 

What Is the Law for Cannabis Edibles?

In case you are unfamiliar, the psychoactive chemical in marijuana flower, THC, is frequently extracted as a concentrate and infused into various foods, like cookies, brownies, beverages, and so on. In Texas, the law for marijuana edibles is substantially different than marijuana flower. The Texas Controlled Substances Act categorizes THC products under penalty group two, meaning that possessing THC edibles is considered to be a more serious offense than possessing marijuana flower. For example, if caught with less than four ounces of marijuana flower in Texas, this is considered a misdemeanor offense. However, if you are caught with less than one gram of marijuana concentrate like found in edibles, the charge is escalated to a felony, punishable by up to two years in prison and fines up to $10,000.

The penalties increase depending on how much THC concentrate you are accused of possessing. If you are charged for having between one and four grams of concentrate, you can face up to ten years in jail and fines of up to $10,000. Meanwhile, four to 100 grams of THC concentrate is classified as a second-degree felony. In comparison, possessing 400 grams or more of THC concentrate is considered a first-degree felony, which can land you in prison for between five and 99 years, with fines reaching up to $50,000.

Similar to other drugs, the total weight of the THC product you are accused of possessing raises the seriousness of the charge. For instance, if you are at a party and decide to bake one pound of brownies containing THC concentrate, this is a first-degree felony. In addition, regardless of whether you purchased the THC concentrate in a state with legalized marijuana, it is still illegal to possess in Texas. 

Contact a Frisco Marijuana Possession Defense Attorney

While many states are changing their tune on marijuana, Texas is not yet one of them. Therefore, understand that marijuana charges in Texas must be taken seriously. If you have been accused of a marijuana-related crime, do not hesitate to contact the astute Collin County drug crime defense lawyers with Law Offices of Biederman & Burleson P.L.L.C.. Call 469-333-3333 today for a free and confidential consultation. 

 

Source:

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/HS/htm/HS.481.htm

top 100 avvo best business top 40 fox usa cnn wfaa elite lawyer
Back to Top