2591 Dallas Parkway, Suite 207A, Frisco, TX 75034

Free Consultations




Were You Arrested for DWI on New Year’s Eve?

 Posted on January 11, 2024 in DWI

TX DWI lawyerWe all like to ring in the New Year celebrating with loved ones. For many of us, that means enjoying a cocktail or other alcoholic beverages. While you might have believed you were fine to drive, you might have been one of the many people arrested on suspicion of driving while intoxicated (DWI) on New Year’s Eve.

If you were arrested for DWI on NYE and now face charges, you may be facing steep fines, license revocation, and even jail time. Your first line of defense against these charges should be to contact a Frisco DWI defense attorney.

Signs of Impairment

In Texas, a motorist can be arrested for DWI if their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.08% or higher. Since a blood chemistry test is not conducted until after an arrest, a police officer will look for any signs indicating that you are impaired to justify pulling you over.

Signs of impairment may include any of the following:

  • Breath tests
  • Field sobriety tests
  • Drifting
  • Moving between lanes erratically
  • Reduced ability to track moving objects
  • Variations in speed
  • Erratic braking
  • Having difficulty concentrating
  • Slurred speech
  • Poor coordination

Texas DWI Penalties

If you have been charged with a DWI in Texas, the severity of your charges will depend on if you have any prior offenses.

Below are the penalties for a DWI conviction in the Lone Star state:

First Offense

  • Maximum fine of $2,000
  • Mandatory incarceration of three days, with up to 180 days in prison
  • Potential license revocation of one year

Second Offense

  • Maximum fine of $4,000
  • One month to one year in prison
  • Potential license revocation of two years

Third Offense

  • Maximum fine of $10,000
  • Up to 10 years in prison
  • Potential license revocation of two years

Your charges may be enhanced if you are driving with a child passenger, with additional fines of up to $10,000 and license revocation for another 180 days.

How Can a Texas DWI Defense Attorney Help Me?

Our experienced DWI defense attorneys have valuable insight into how sobriety testing should be conducted and the reliability of different tests. For instance, if you were asked to take a breath alcohol test (breathalyzer), the results are usually not reliable, often having false positives. 

There are a number of reasons that you may have a false positive on a breathalyzer test. Certain medical conditions, like diabetes, may show that your BAC is much higher than it really is. Additionally, if you just rinsed your mouth with mouthwash or if you breathe too slowly into the machine, there is a high chance that you will get an elevated reading.

Our Collin County DWI defense attorneys will gather all exculpatory evidence to clear you from guilt. We have over 500 trial victories in DWI cases, and we are prepared to fight for you.

Arrested for DWI? Contact a Frisco, TX, DWI Defense Attorney Today

At the Law Offices of Biederman & Burleson P.L.L.C., we understand the gravity of what is at stake. With over 25 years of combined experience defending DWI charges, we take a personal interest in every individual we represent. One mistake should not scar you for the rest of your life. Contact our Collin County, TX, DWI defense attorneys today online or by calling 469-333-3333 to schedule your free consultation.

Share this post:
top 100 avvo best business top 40 fox usa cnn wfaa elite lawyer
Back to Top