2591 Dallas Parkway, Suite 207A, Frisco, TX 75034

Free Consultations

469-333-3333

What Are the Penalties for Aggravated Assault in Texas?

Posted on in Assault

Collin County criminal defense attorney aggravated assault

In Texas, the crime of assault is taken seriously. This particular offense includes any situation in which the offender intentionally or knowingly causes or threatens bodily harm to another person, or physically contacts another person in an offensive or provocative manner. However, the severity of the assault and the resulting penalties can vary greatly depending on the situation. A skilled criminal defense attorney can be especially important if you are facing charges of aggravated assault in Texas.

Consequences of a Texas Aggravated Assault Conviction

In most cases, simple assault in Texas is considered a Class A misdemeanor or lower, resulting in penalties of up to one year of imprisonment and $4,000 in fines. However, certain factors can increase the charges to aggravated assault, including:

  • Causing serious bodily injury, meaning an injury that is life-threatening or that causes long-term disfigurement or impairment of bodily functions

  • Using or exhibiting a deadly weapon, which may include a firearm, a knife or sharp instrument, a blunt instrument, or anything that can cause fatal injury

Aggravated assault is charged as at least a second-degree felony, with possible consequences including 2 to 20 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. It can be charged as a first-degree felony, with imprisonment of 99 years to life, if the assault is committed against a member of your family or household, someone with whom you have had a dating relationship, a public servant, a security officer, or a witness or informant who may testify against you.

Defending Against Aggravated Assault Charges

Aggravated assault is one of the most serious charges you can face in the state of Texas, and if you wish to avoid excessive punishment, your best option is to hire an experienced criminal defense lawyer. We can help you gather evidence and identify witnesses who may be able to testify to your innocence. We may be able to have your charges dismissed or reduced if we can demonstrate that your actions were not responsible for the person’s injuries, or that you were acting in self-defense. It also may be possible to work out a plea bargain in which you are charged and sentenced with a lesser form of assault.

Contact a Frisco Assault Defense Attorney

The crime of assault can result in significant punishments throughout the United States, including Texas. At the Law Offices of Biederman & Burleson P.L.L.C., we know that not everyone who is charged with aggravated assault deserves to be convicted, and we are committed to providing you with the best possible defense to avoid penalties that can harm you for the rest of your life. Call our seasoned Collin County criminal defense lawyer today at 469-333-3333 to request a free consultation.

 

Source:

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/PE/htm/PE.22.htm

 

top 100 avvo best business top 40 fox usa cnn wfaa elite lawyer
Back to Top