2591 Dallas Parkway, Suite 207A, Frisco, TX 75034

Free Consultations

469-333-3333

What Happens if You Are Caught Selling Marijuana in Texas?

Posted on in Drug Charges

TX defense lawyerWhen it comes to the legality of marijuana and cannabis products, state laws vary wildly. In Texas, the use, sale, or cultivation of marijuana is illegal. Medical marijuana containing low levels of THC is available for certain individuals diagnosed with medical conditions like epilepsy. However, medical marijuana users must receive a prescription from a physician and get the marijuana product from a licensed dispensary.

Regular Texans are prohibited from selling or otherwise distributing marijuana flower or THC products like edibles. If you or a loved one were charged with marijuana distribution, seek advice from a drug crimes defense lawyer right away.

Collin County Marijuana Distribution Charges

Selling even a small amount of marijuana flower, edibles, or other cannabis products can lead to criminal charges in Texas. The severity of the charges depends on the amount of cannabis allegedly sold.

Distributing or selling less than a quarter of an ounce of cannabis (about 7 grams) is a misdemeanor offense. If the marijuana was sold in exchange for money, distribution of less than .25 ounces is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to a year in jail and up to $4,000 in fines. If there was no remuneration, it is a Class B misdemeanor punishable by up to 180 days in jail and a maximum fine of $2000. Although many people convicted of misdemeanor drug offenses may avoid jail time, having a drug crime on your record can affect your life in many ways.

Selling more than a quarter ounce of marijuana is a felony crime in Texas. If the amount allegedly sold is between 7 grams and 5 pounds, it is a state jail felony. Selling between 5 and 50 pounds of marijuana is considered a second-degree felony. If you are accused of selling 50 to 2000 pounds of marijuana, you face first-degree felony charges. Felony drug distribution charges may be penalized by years or decades in jail.

Get Legal Help Now

Many people assume that because marijuana has become more widely accepted in the United States, they cannot face severe criminal penalties for selling it. However, marijuana laws are very strict in Texas, and selling even a small amount of cannabis or THC-containing products can lead to imprisonment. If you are accused of selling marijuana, contact a criminal defense lawyer for help.

Contact Our Collin County Drug Crime Defense Lawyer

The Frisco marijuana crimes defense attorneys at Law Offices of Biederman & Burleson P.L.L.C. know that marijuana charges can threaten your freedom. We can help you defend yourself. Call us at 469-333-3333 for a free consultation.

Source:

https://www.texmed.org/TexasMedicineDetail.aspx?id=58366

top 100 avvo best business top 40 fox usa cnn wfaa elite lawyer
Back to Top