2591 Dallas Parkway, Suite 207A, Frisco, TX 75034

Free Consultations




What Is the Timeline for a DWI Case in Texas?

 Posted on July 28, 2021 in DWI

texas DWI defense lawyerThere are about 28 people killed in drunk-driving accidents each day, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. Consequently, jurisdictions across the country prioritize preventing driving while intoxicated, or driving under the influence. The NHTSA teaches police officers to collect a host of information regarding every stage of the DWI stop. 

By streamlining the process, the authorities are hoping to build the strongest case against you and as a result increase their conviction rate. There are certainly a lot of reasons to discourage drunk driving. The first being they want to make the roads safer and prevent you or anyone else from being hurt or killed unnecessarily because of a DWI crash. 

Statute of Limitations for DWI

In the state of Texas, a DWI is usually considered a misdemeanor offense, which means the authorities must indict you within two years of the offense. So, if you are arrested for DWI on July 26, 2021, they have until July 26, 2023 to formally accuse you of the crime. Ordinarily, you are charged with the crime shortly after being arrested, but authorities might wait to charge you as they await lab results. 

For felony DWI charges, the statute of limitations is three years, meaning the authorities have three years to indict you. However, the majority of DWI cases are misdemeanors. A felony becomes possible, though, if you are driving drunk and your passenger is 15 years old or younger, or you injure or kill someone in an accident. 

DWI Timeline in Court

The overall timeline for a DUI case varies. If you are arrested in Collin County, your first appearance will be based on the court’s caseload, but it usually takes place about 3 to 6 months later. At the first appearance, you basically need to tell the court whether or not you have an attorney. If you do have an attorney, he or she will get to work immediately by collecting information and evidence to aid in your defense. 

Also at your first appearance, the court will schedule your first announcement setting, which takes place 20 or 30 days later. Then, you can get a second announcement setting, which would take place 20 or 30 days later as well. At the announcement setting, you can enter a plea, schedule a trial date, or your lawyer, after finding flaws in the case, can request a dismissal.

Call a Collin County DWI Defense Lawyer 

If you are facing DWI charges, contact a Texas DWI defense attorney at the Law Offices of Biederman & Burleson P.L.L.C. for a free consultation from our experienced DWI attorneys. Call 469-333-3333 today.







Share this post:
top 100 avvo best business top 40 fox usa cnn wfaa elite lawyer
Back to Top