2591 Dallas Parkway, Suite 207A, Frisco, TX 75034

Free Consultations

469-333-3333

What Should I Do If I Was Arrested for DWI Resulting in Injury or Death?

Posted on in DWI

Collin County DWI defense attorney intoxication manslaughter

Most first-time drunk driving offenses are misdemeanor offenses punishable by a maximum of 180 days in jail, fines, and suspension of the offender’s driver’s license. However, driving while intoxicated (DWI) and causing an accident in which someone is injured or killed is a felony offense in Texas. These crimes are punished much more severely than typical DWI offenses. If you or a loved one have been charged with driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs and causing a serious car accident, speak with a criminal defense lawyer right away. The sooner you contact an experienced lawyer, the sooner your lawyer can start building a defense strategy.

Penalties for Intoxication Assault and Intoxication Manslaughter

Driving while intoxicated and causing a crash that results in injury or death is referred to as “intoxication assault” or “intoxication manslaughter” respectively. Both of these crimes are felony offenses that are heavily penalized in Texas. If you are convicted of causing serious bodily injury in a drunk driving accident, you could face 10 years in prison and fines of up to $10,000. If you are convicted of causing a drunk driving accident that results in death, you face penalties including a maximum of 20 years in prison and a maximum fine of $10,000.

Do Not Consent to an Interrogation and Contact a Lawyer

If you are facing intoxication assault or intoxication manslaughter charges, there are several steps that you must take immediately. The first and most important thing is to stay silent and refuse police questioning. Law enforcement may try to ask you questions about the circumstances of the accident, what you were doing immediately prior to the accident, your drinking habits, and more. It is very important that you decline these questions. Say, “I am choosing to remain silent until I speak with my attorney” and then say nothing. Remember, you have a Constitutional right to avoid self-incrimination. This includes refusing to answer police questions.

The next step is to contact a skilled criminal defense lawyer. Your attorney will help you understand your legal options, evaluate your case, and choose a defense strategy that gives you the best chances of a positive outcome.

Contact a Collin County DWI Defense Lawyer

If you or someone you care about was involved in a DWI car accident resulting in injury or death, contact Biederman & Burleson P.L.L.C. right away. Our Frisco criminal defense attorneys know what you or your loved one are up against. We have secured hundreds of not-guilty verdicts for clients accused of drunk driving – including over 100 not-guilty verdicts for clients who initially failed a blood alcohol content (BAC) test. Call us today at 469-333-3333 to schedule a free, confidential consultation to learn more about how we can help you.

 

Source:

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/PE/htm/PE.49.htm

top 100 avvo best business top 40 fox usa cnn wfaa elite lawyer
Back to Top