2591 Dallas Parkway, Suite 207A, Frisco, TX 75034

Free Consultations

469-333-3333

What to Know About Intoxication Assault Charges in Frisco

Posted on in DWI

TX DWI lawyerDriving while intoxicated is a criminal offense in Texas. If convicted of DWI, an individual faces major consequences, including jail time. If an individual causes an accident in which someone is injured while under the influence, he or she can face charges for intoxication assault. DWI involving bodily injury or intoxication assault may involve drunk driving, drugged driving, or intoxicated operation of a boat or airplane. DWI resulting in serious bodily injury is a felony offense in Texas. If you or a loved one were charged with intoxication assault, speak to a criminal defense lawyer for help right away.

Drunk Driving That Results in Serious Bodily Injury

Alcohol, drugs, or even prescription medication can affect a person’s ability to drive safely. Because of this, states have passed legislation prohibiting intoxicated driving. DWI is punishable by three to 180 days’ incarceration, probation, community service, and steep fines for a first-time offense in Texas. However, if an intoxicated driver causes a crash in which someone is seriously hurt, the penalties are much more severe.

Per Texas law, intoxication manslaughter occurs when, as a result of intoxicated driving, someone causes serious injury to another.

Texas law defines serious injury as an injury that:

  • Puts the person at considerable risk of death
  • Causes permanent loss of functioning of an organ or body part
  • Causes permanent disfigurement

Intoxication assault is a third-degree felony. If you are convicted of intoxication assault in Texas you can be imprisoned for up to ten years and fined up to $10,000. Being convicted of a felony can have life-changing consequences including lasting damage to your employment opportunities and personal reputation.

Contact a Frisco Intoxication Assault Defense Lawyer

Drunk driving charges are already severe. If an individual is charged with causing injury during a drunk driving accident, the charges are especially severe. Intoxication manslaughter is a third-degree felony punishable by up to a decade in prison. If you or a loved one were charged with intoxication manslaughter, contact Law Offices of Biederman & Burleson P.L.L.C. for help.

The skilled Collin County criminal defense attorneys at Law Offices of Biederman & Burleson P.L.L.C. understand just how dramatically intoxication assault charges can impact a person’s life. Our knowledgeable team has over 25 years of combined legal experience. We can help you defend yourself against intoxication manslaughter charges and ensure your rights are protected throughout your case. Whenever possible, we seek dismissal or acquittal. When this is not possible, we work to get charges reduced and sentences lessened.

Call us at 469-333-3333 for a free, confidential consultation.

Source:

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/PE/htm/PE.49.htm

top 100 avvo best business top 40 fox usa cnn wfaa elite lawyer
Back to Top